Rheology of Earth Materials :
Closing the gap between timescales in the laboratory and in the mantle

15 December 2023 - IYBSSD Closing Ceremony

CERN Science Gateway, Geneva, Switzerland

International Year of Basic Sciences for Sustainable Development
Closing Ceremony

“The International Year of Basic Sciences for Sustainable Development (IYBSSD) was a unique opportunity to convince all stakeholders that, through a basic understanding of nature, actions taken will be more effective, for the common good", said Michel Spiro, Chair of the Steering Committee of IYBSSD, and President of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics.

IYBSSD has indeed been a great opportunity:

  • to change the view of society about the crucial role of basic sciences in the progress toward the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals;

  • to mobilize scientists in the area of basic research to discuss how they contribute to sustainable development, and how they could do more.

A public celebration of these achievements, open to all, will be held:

15 December 2023
9:00 – 18:00
CERN Science Gateway, Geneva, Switzerland

Early-career scientists, and their contributions to developing science and its interactions with society at large, will be the focal point of the morning sessions. Every science student and early-career scientist are invited to attend and take part in the discussion.

Representatives of sciences academies from Africa, Asia, South America, and Europe will discuss the over 400 events organized in more than 70 countries, by the 53 partner organizations (international scientific unions, research organizations and funding agencies) and 123 supporters (national, regional, and international science academies, scientific networks, universities, etc.).

The proclamation of the International Decade of Sciences for Sustainable Development (2024-
, by the United Nations General Assembly, is the most important outcome of IYBSSD. It will be discussed by Csaba Kőrösi, President of the 77th of the UN General Assembly, Jelena Begović, Minister of Science, Technological Development and Innovation of the Republic of Serbia, Lidia Brito, Assistant Director General of UNESCO, Vanessa McBride, Science Director of the International Science Council and Carlos Alvarez-Pereira, Vice-President of the Club of Rome.

See the full program and register at https://indico.cern.ch/e/iybssd
Participation in this Closing Ceremony is free, but registration is mandatory for in-person participation.
Visit www.iybssd2022.org for the live webcast.